Employees Awarded Art of Nursing Honors

The Art of Nursing Program recognizes nursing staff throughout the GBMC Healthcare System who exemplify and embody the fundamental elements of the art of nursing in seven categories: diversity in nursing, clinical assistant support award, nurse clinician of the year, nursing evidence-based practice award, Mrs. H. Norman Baetjer, Jr. nursing graduate of the year, patient-and-family-centered care award, and nurse leader award.

2022 Art of Nursing Winner

Congratulations to Gilchrist’s 2022 Art of Nursing Awards finalists and congratulations to Michael Kuiper for winning the Diversity in Nursing Award! Special congratulations to Michael Kuiper, MSN, RN, CHPN, AHN-BC, for winning the 2022 Diversity in Nursing Award, and congratulations to the Gilchrist 2022 Art of Nursing Awards finalists who were among the top three in their category! This year, we had four finalists, in four different categories. Each nomination is read and carefully considered, and every year it becomes more difficult to choose the winners. This reaffirms how fortunate we are to have such an amazing team of nurses and nursing staff. 

All 2022 Gilchrist Nominees:

Clinical Assistant Support Award – Outpatient
Kimberly (Kim) Ross, CNA, CHPNA
Patricia Wright, CNA

Diversity in Nursing
Michael Kuiper, MSN, RN, CHPN, AHN-BC
Rhonda Dennis, RN

Evidence-Based Practice Nursing
Beverly Trimper, RN, CHPN
Emily Raines, RN

The Nightingale Award
Amanda Taylor, BSN, RN
Carol Carico, MS, RN
Delores Williams, RN
Lisa Adkins, CRNP, ACHPN
Nayeli McCaffrey, RN

Nurse Leader Award
Donn Philip (Phil) Cano, MSN, RN
Katherine Packett, BSN, RN, CCRN, CHPN
Susan Serp, RN
Tracie Schwoyer-Morgan, DNP, MS, ANP-BC*

Nurse Clinician of the Year
Allison Neal, RN
Paula Kowalewski, MSN, CRNP

Patient- and Family-Centered Care
Erin Pickett, BSN, RN
Gilchrist Center Howard County
Marva Christie, RN
Stephanie Gramling, BSN, RN

*Denotes more than one nomination.

Gilchrist’s Art of Nursing Past Winners

2021 Nurse Clinician of the Year
Tracy Hickman, CHPLN

2020 Nurse Leader Award
Catherine Mauriello, MS, ANP- BC, ACHPN, Integrative and Palliative Medicine

2019 Art of Nursing Winner
Kimberly Ross, CNA

2018 Gilchrist Art of Nursing winners

2018 Diversity in Nursing Award
Gilchrist Center Baltimore team

To learn more about the awards, visit GBMC’s website.